• Baptist Children's Homes

NC children need your voice immediately!


In North Carolina, there are now over 3,000 more children in foster care than there were in 2011. While the number of children coming into care is rapidly increasing, the number of available foster homes is decreasing.

We need your help to secure funding in the Senate budget for House Bill 580/Senate Bill 636 to increase the reimbursement rate of foster families! This bill also includes an administrative increase for agencies to recruit and retain foster families.

PLEASE call, email or write the Senators below (especially the ones in your district!) who will be responsible for making the Senate budget and ask them to include $6.8 million in fiscal year 2020-2021. Email or write the Senators using the contact information below. Post on your social media multiple times - we need to make this bill go viral in NC!!!

Bullet talking points are below (also see attached one page talking points):

  • For children in foster care, the state is the responsible parent and is obligated to meet the needs of our children.

  • No increase in the reimbursement rate for over a decade.

  • Reimbursement rate doesn't even cover the cost of the child but helps tremendously!

  • We pay more to board a dog per day in NC than we currently pay to care for our children in foster care.

  • There has been a 27% increase since 2011 of youth coming into care but the number of foster homes has decreased during that time. We need safe and stable homes for our children in care.

A new federal law called Families First will go into effect in 2021 which will limit funding for any alternative to foster family placement, thus requiring the need for more foster families.

Download Foster Care Info Sheet & Talking Points

**Please make the "ask" your own by telling them in your own words how important this increase is for the care and well-being of our youth in care.

Senator Dan Bishop

District: Mecklenburg

919-733-5655

Dan.Bishop@ncleg.net

16 West Jones Street

Room 2108

Raleigh NC 27601

Senator Joyce Kraweic

Districts: Davie Forsyth

919-733-7850

Joyce.Kraweic@ncleg.net

300 N. Salisbury Street

Room 308

Raleigh, NC 27603

Senator Jim Burgin

Districts: Harnett, Johnston, Lee

919-733-5748

Jim.Burgin@ncleg.net

16 West Jones Street

Room 2113

Raleigh, NC 27601

Senator Ralph Hise

Districts: Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk,

Rutherford, Yancy

919-733-3460

Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net

300 N Salisbury Street

Room 300-A

Raleigh, NC 27603

Senator Jim Perry

Districts: Lenoir, Wayne

919-733-5621

Jim.Perry@ncleg.net

300 N Salisbury Street

Room 311

Raleigh, NC 27603

Senator Harry Brown

Districts: Jones, Onslow

919-715-3034

Harry.Brown@ncleg.net

300 N Salisbury Street

Room 300-B

Raleigh, NC 27603

Senator Kathy Harrington

District: Gaston

919-733-5734

Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net

300 N Salisbury Street

Room 300-C

Raleigh, NC 27603

Senator Brent Jackson

Districts: Duplin, Johnston, Sampson

919-733-5705

Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net

16 West Jones Street

Room 2022

Raleigh, NC 27601

Senator Deanna Ballard

Districts: Alleghany, Ashe, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes

919-733-5742

Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.net

300 N Salisbury Street

Room 521

Raleigh, NC 27603

Senator Rick Gunn

Districts: Alamance, Guilford

919-301-1446

Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net

300 N Salisbury Street

Room 314

Raleigh, NC 27603

Senator Bill Rabon

Districts: Bladen, Brunswick, New Hanover

919-733-5963

Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net

16 West Jones Street

Room 2010

Raleigh, NC 27601

Senator Jerry Tillman

Districts: Guilford, Randolph

919-733-5870

Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net

300 N Salisbury Street

Room 309

Raleigh, NC 27603

Senator Jim Davis

Districts: Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood

Jackson, Macon, Swain

919-733-5875

Jim.Davis@ncleg.net

300 N Salisbury Street

Room 621

Raleigh, NC 27603

Senator Danny Britt

Districts: Columbus, Robeson

919-733-5651

Danny.Britt@ncleg.net

300 N Salisbury Street

Room 525

Raleigh, NC 27603


140 views

204 Idol Street  |  P.O. Box 338  |  Thomasville, NC 27360  |  1.800.476.3669  |  www.bchfamily.org

Accredited by the Council on Accreditation for Children & Family Services. In 2015, Baptist Children's Homes of North Carolina was reaccredited receiving perfect ratings on 96% of the 1,000 standards that were evaluated.

© 2015 - 2019 by Baptist Children's Homes of North Carolina

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon